Placerita Canyon in Santa Clarita, Ca.- Nature Center to Waterfall Hike

This hike has always been a favorite of mine and I’m surprised that I have never posted it before!

For directions and information:

http://www.placerita.org/index.html

I’ll save you the suspense by telling you that I didn’t make it all the way to the waterfall this time. Why?

 

My Co-Host got tired…Do you believe this little BULLDOG walked 2 miles?! I KNOW, right?!?!?

If you want to visit the Waterfall, you’ll walk through Walker Ranch which is the ruins of the old homestead once owned by- THE WALKERS- between 1900-1950. So….you hit 2 destinations! Kewl! The Waterfall usually has water running in the Winter/Early Spring and it IS really pretty and peaceful up there. I’m looking forward to hitting this trail again WITHOUT Little Mister. I’d like to spend some quiet time on my own- just taking in the natural energy. I want to just sit there and BE…

    

I think Caiden used up the majority of his energy at the beginning of the hike. By the time we got here-

He stop listening to me and then had a huge breakdown. Eventually, he calmed down and we continued along the trail until we found some terrific rocks to climb!

Adventure Boy is SO CUTE!

    

We crossed over the stream on that crazy, metal bridge and continued onward…

Until we made it here and decided to have some lunch and talk to the other hikers going by. Adventure Boy turned into “My Feet Hurt” Boy and then “I’m Tired” boy…so we turned back.

We HAD TO STOP and look at the stream again on our way back…

Right before we made it off the trail, we came across the Scariest Tree on Earth aka THE MONSTER TREE! Don’t worry, Caiden growled at it and scared it so EVERYONE IS SAFE- I PROMISE!

Even though I had to deal with Caiden’s breakdown, I still had a great time getting out into the woods! He fell asleep 2 seconds after I put him in the car so the fresh air and exercise did him some good too!

Length: We went 2 miles total. See picture of trail sign for accurate mileage.

Exercise Level: Not too easy, Not too hard.

Cell Friendly: In Places

Dog Friendly: YES

Kid Friendly: Yes, if they listen well

Wheelchair Friendly: No. There is another trail that might be- check it out on their website.

Bring:  Water and a snack. Maybe a light jacket too.

Wear: Good Sneakers or Hiking Boots, Sunscreen, a hat if you’re fair, layers if you have a tendency to get cold.

Leave a Reply

