Hidden Valley Nature Walk- Joshua Tree NP

Image

Directions:  Take the 10 freeway to the 62 – head North, pass through Morongo Valley, Yucca Valley and the town of Joshua Tree. You will see signs that say Joshua Tree National Park. Turn right on Park Avenue, there is a sign and a stoplight. Follow the road for 6 miles to the entrance gate. Pay your entrance fee ($15 for 7 days) and continue, drive for about ten miles. The turn off for Hidden Valley Picnic Area comes up on your right. Park. Pee. Hike!

Details:

Distance: 1 mile (seemed longer to me)

Difficultly: Easy-ish (Lots of rock-stairs. I HATE stairs.)

Wheelchair Friendly? No

Dog Friendly? No

Kid Friendly? Yes!

Cell Phone Signal: None

THIS IS THE DESERT- YOU MUST BRING FOOD, PLENTY OF WATER AND SUN SCREEN.

PROPER ATTIRE and SHOES are a MUST!

Make sure someone knows where you are at all times!

The Lowdown:

This was #2 of the 2 or 3 hikes I wanted to do while I was visiting Joshua Tree. I thought that I’d do 2 or 3 short hikes instead of one big one. I was actually planning a longer adventure but the road I needed to drive down to get to the trailhead was washed out (by the snow) so a quick change of plans was in order.

I have a feeling that this trail is ALWAYS crowded so if you’re hiking alone- this path would be good for your safety. SOMEONE will come across you eventually!

The trail starts out with rock-stairs-

Image

and then some more rock-stairs-

Image

(huff-puff-huff-puff) I hate stairs…They ARE worth it though cuz you get to the see THIS (see pic below) when you get to the top!

Image

Hidden Valley! This is where Cattle Rustlers used to hide out! Oh how criminal!!!

I grabbed myself some quiet time over here…

Image

If you go just slightly off trail, you be able to get in a little meditation!

Like a lizard,I enjoy a nice, smooth, warm rock to rest upon where I can imagine the Cowboys chasing the Rustlers and Robbers through the narrow passages of the canyon. Yes! I do have quite an imagination… Thanks for noticing!

I also enjoy just sitting and taking in the natural beauty of the area. There is nothing like a cool gust of wind in your face to energize you! Joshua Tree is so tranquil and relaxing that I find myself wanting to visit again and again…

Off I go on my final leg of this mini journey…

Image

I know, I know…Wow!

Uphill and UP THE STAIRS we go! Ugh….Maybe THIS is why I thought this hike felt longer then the other?!

Image

The Wrap Up: If you’re a beginning hiker and new to the Joshua Tree Experience- you’ll love this mini adventure. I enjoyed myself completely and was a bit tired but very satisfied after my little journey. If your ass has done nothing but eat cheesecake, watch DVDS and play video games for the past few months- I highly recommend that you get out there- if not HERE, ANYWHERE and get yourself moving!

Leave a Reply

