The Best Decision For Me…for now

1385991_10200816356148192_1385479535_n
I’ve been thinking a lot about aging…

Trying to take charge of your health when you’ve lived an unhealthy or addictive lifestyle for so long is quite the challenge. Doing the research on eating green, clean, vegan, vitamins, super foods, protein shakes, non-GMO foods, organic, carbs, no carbs, fat, no fat is HELL and very time consuming. There is SO MUCH misinformation out there. Example: The 80’s “Eat Carbs” way of dieting made me uber fat. Thanks Surgeon General C. Everette Koop for the endorsement- ya jerk!

Anyway…

We are lucky to live in an age where you can take a LOT of pills to keep yourself alive and kicking for a good minute but honestly I really don’t want to be a slave to pharmaceuticals. Since going to the Doctor 8 weeks ago, I have discovered that my labs are surprisingly good for a Fat Chick and what I was lacking in vitamin wise was covered by taking supplements and 7 pesky Iron Infusions (with 4 follow ups through the rest of the year). I appreciated that and was happy that I didn’t have to take anything synthetic. This got me thinking…

Am I going to have to be on a diet forever? Are my golden years going to be dedicated to worrying about being thin and looking like the societal standard? Am I going to have to take handfuls of pills to squeak out a few extra years? The answer my friends is simple…no.

I will NOT be the old lady eating cottage cheese and melba toast for breakfast, chicken and salad for lunch and a Lean Cuisine for dinner. I will NOT be shlinging handfuls of pills unless I absolutely HAVE TO take them. Bingo WILL NOT be my daily exercise.

So here’s my game plan:
1) I will FINALLY find a way of eating that works for me but I WILL cut out MOST processed food.
2) I WILL cut out a few lingering nasty habits that I still insist on doing.
3) I WILL continue to HIKE, WALK, KAYAK, STRENGTH TRAIN and maybe add a few new activities as well.
4) I will TRY to be comfortable with my weight and the person that I am.

AND… I WILL NOT:

BE ON A “DIET” after age 50. PERIOD.

There is NO REASON to continue to torture myself. I will try to aim for a fit lifestyle for the next 3 1/2 years and stick to it but when I’m 50…I will practice what I preach and hopefully I will succeed in finding the HAPPY MEDIUM. I will also eat a cookie, whenever I want one without hating myself. Desert too and if anyone I know doesn’t like that- I will kick their cane right out from under them! >wink<

One thought on “The Best Decision For Me…for now”

Leave a Reply

