Sandstone Canyon/Lake Harriet Loop- Spring Mtn Ranch, Las Vegas

hike7
One of the GREENEST Parks in Las Vegas. I love to hike and picnic here because it’s a little on the remote side and SO Pretty!
There’s a lot of Nevada History going on here and you can read all about it:
http://parks.nv.gov/parks/spring-mountain-ranch-state-park/

Sandston Canyon Loop
NOTE: I never saw a Trailhead sign. This is where it is…
To the trail: Walk up to Lake Harriet and you’ll see a sign that says, “Lake Harriet.” (duh. right?)
Stay to the LEFT of the sign and follow the trail 1/2 way around the lake. You’ll see it fork off. Stay to the left.
1.2 Miles

Fairly easy, a little rocky
LITTLE TO NO SHADE
combined with the Lake Harriet Loop
.4 Miles
Min. Shade
Hike Time: 1 Hour
Meditate and Snack by the lake: 1 Hour!
hike9

The Low Down:
$7 entrance fee for NV Residents/$9 for out of Towners

Short but slightly uphill aka A Lung Buster

Wear desert appropriate clothing (Layers in the winter, sun protection in the summer)

Hiking Boots or really good sneakers will work. You will feel the rocks through your sneakers- trust me.

Sun Block is a must no matter what time of year. Sunglasses and a hat are a good idea

Cell Service? Phone and WIFI by the lake.

WATER, WATER, WATER

Indulge in a PICNIC or a snack

Very Kid Friendly- especially if they listen well. They’ll love the COW in the Pasteur!

Dog friendly too!

Here’s my friend the COW. I love her!

My adventure:

I got a MEGA late start today and the temperature was rising as I left for the hike. By the time I got there, it was almost 80. 80 is my hiking temperature cut off point and I was pushing it here. It can be 10 to 15 degrees cooler at Spring Mountain Ranch- so I had that going for me. Being so heat sensitive is a huge pain in the ass but HEY- what are ya gonna do?

From the parking lot: Walk up the gravel driveway that leads to Lake Harriet and you’ll come across the COW. I had to stop and speak with her because- she’s a cow and cows are cool. The little hill up to Lake Harriet is not much but I’m fat, so it takes me a minute to get up there.

I happily stopped to take a picture and realized that I forgot my F-ing hat. Damn.

hike3

I continued onward- grumbling the WHOLE way because I was BOILING and I needed my HAT! Every little bit of shade I found, I stopped under (and there wasn’t much). I huffed and puffed up the trail like a freight train. Don’t you HATE when you’re trudging up a hill and you think it’s going to even out and then you get around the bend and you see you have to CONTINUE up hill?! Me too! Ugh!

The View from the TOP
The View from the TOP

It got SUPER, DUPER ROCKY at the loop around and it was all down hill from there. The loop met up with the MAIN TRAIL and it was easy to go back from which you came. Lately, I’ve been smiling this really weird, triumphant smile every time I accomplish something physical. This time- I cheered a little…(lol).

hike4

Sweaty, filthy and hungry- I was elated when I saw the distant lake. My mind was focused on grabbing the FIRST bench (in the shade) by the water I came across. Unfortunately, there were 3 absolutely PERFECT women with their little dogs chattering like GIBBONS at said bench (I thought I was in L.A.for a second). Around them I went until I found the first piece of dirt in the shade and down I plopped- ripping open my protein bar filled baggy and shoving pieces in my month (I was starved I tell you! Starved!).

Red Hair...don't care! Look at the view!
Red Hair…don’t care! Look at the view!

Spent an hour listening to the frogs, ducks and hawks. It was nice to just BREATHE for a while…

Just in case you have NO idea where you are...
Just in case you have NO idea where you are…

You…yeah you. Get off your ass and go for a walk- even if it’s around the block. You’ll feel better- I promise.

Leave a Reply

