FAT TV/Old Habits

It’s been awhile since I’ve updated this blog. I have a bunch of hikes to add but I’ve been too lazy to post them. Eventually I’ll get to it but until then, I’ll just add a rant or 2…

This is more like an observation then a rant:

Reality TV is just a cluster fuck of pure bullshit.

With that being said, I have to admit that I do watch the shows that have to do with weight. It’s an accountability thing. Watching them makes me think to myself, “There by the grace of G-d go I…”

“My 600 Pound Life” is like a cautionary tale. A reminder that I could easily slip back to the days of overwhelming depression and a direct path leading straight to the Burger King drive-thru. Gaining 50 lbs 4 years after surgery was frightening. Watching 600 pound people lose weight, become stubborn and gain the majority back is absolutely terrifying.

Though I did develop complications after WLS and was able to lose the 50 lbs gained because of them, I credit this show for helping me realize that this is NOT a place I want to dwell within again.

“My Big, Fat, Fabulous Life” is another show I catch now and then. Whitney Thore is an inspiration to the fat community. She is sweet, bubbly and projects a good attitude regardless of her situation. Why she hasn’t taken the WLS plunge is beyond me considering that she has Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome- which makes her an instant candidate.

TLC neglects to include the parts of her on camera where she is sitting alone and crying into a box of Twinkies over how much she hates being fat. Don’t tell me she doesn’t because all us fatties do…positive, size accepting attitude or not. The Size Acceptance Women run around saying that they’re proud of their bodies but basically try to validate themselves by sleeping with anyone that will accept them. I was one of those women. I could write a novel that makes 50 Shades of Grey look like a children’s book- but I digress…

Whitney mentioned something on her show just recently that really struck a nerve. She said she had to know where she was going with her friends because she had to make sure she could fit into the seat or wouldn’t break the chair. “There by the grace…” I thought to myself again. That’s a habit that still sticks with me to this day. Even at less than 1/2 my weight, I still scan the booths and chairs in restaurants to make sure I’ll fit. Crazy…

It’s been 8 years since my WLS and I still have to keep myself in check EVERY SINGLE DAY. Dramatics aside, these reality shows are therapy in an odd way. It’s like listening to the speaker at an NA meeting. Sometimes, you have to get past the grandiose bullshit to get to the message but THERE IS A MESSAGE- if you really want to listen.

Leave a Reply

